IAVCEI IAVCEI
IAVCEI

 

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM

III. From precursors to eruption  

III.9 Progress in understanding submarine volcanism

Martin Jutzeler, University of Tasmania, Australia; jutzeler@gmail.com
Robert Embley, NOAA/Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, USA; robert.w.embley@noaa.gov
James D.L. White, University of Otago, New Zealand; james.white@otago.ac.nz
William W. Chadwick, Jr., CIMRS, Oregon State U. and NOAA/PMEL; william.w.chadwick@noaa.gov
Nancy R. Riggs, Northern Arizona University, USA; nancy.riggs@nau.edu
Steffen Kutterolf, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany; skutterolf@geomar.de

More than two thirds of volcanic eruptions worldwide occur under water and large amounts of the detritus enters the ocean from emergent and coastal volcanism as well as widespread ash from large subaerial eruptions.  Over the past 25 years significant progress has been made in subaqueous deposit studies, and on the spatial and temporal scales of submarine volcanism on mid-ocean ridge, volcanic arcs, and in ocean island environments.  Progress in the field includes: (1) field studies, experimental and theoretical work on the eruption, transport and deposition of volcanic clasts, (2) the development of new technologies to map the seafloor at increasing resolution, (3) the advances in remote detection of volcanic activity, and (4) the development of in-situ instruments (both cabled and un-cabled).  This session aims to bring together research on modern and ancient volcanic deposits and effusive eruptions where final deposition was under water. We are particularly interested in research on facies analysis, micro-textures, and geophysical monitoring and other observations aimed at understanding the formation of lava flows and volcaniclastic deposits on the seafloor.  The session covers field-based and other observational, laboratory or theoretical studies and welcomes contributions on hazards and risk mitigation studies associated with such events.