IAVCEI IAVCEI
IAVCEI

 

SCIENTIFIC PROGRAM

III. From precursors to eruption  

III.8 Combining geological data and numerical simulations for understanding the eruption dynamics and depositional processes

Conveners:  
Silvia Massaro, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra e Geoambientali, University of Bari, Italy; silvia.massaro@uniba.it
Roberto Sulpizio, Dipartimento di Scienze della Terra e Geoambientali, University of Bari, Italy; roberto.sulpizio@uniba.it
Antonio Costa, Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia, section of Bologna, Italy; antonio.costa@ingv.it
Domenico Doronzo, Centro de Geociencias-UNAM, Mexico; doronzo@geociencias.unam.mx
Pietro Tizzani CNR IREA tizzani.p@irea.cnr.it
Luca D'Auria, INGV, Napoli, Italy, luca.dauria@ingv.it
Susi Pepe, CNR IRE, pepe.s@irea.cnr.it
Bruno Massa,University of Sannio, massa@unisannio.it

Since the 80’s of the 20th century the Volcanology underwent a tumultuous growth, passing from a mostly descriptive branch of petrography to a modern interdisciplinary science that has learned how to quantify processes, their associated hazards and resources.
In this context, the geology of volcanic areas represents the unavoidable baseline for all the studies dealing with volcanic activity, because the geological record witnesses to the reality, and provides the measure against which the applicability of observations from other sources (e.g. numerical simulations) must be ultimately assessed. On the other hand, application of physical modelling to volcanology allowed quantitatively describing processes and providing hints for interpretation of eruption dynamics and deposits. Descend that combination of geological data and physical modelling provides robustness to volcanological models, hazard mapping, and remote sensing.
The aim of this session is to collect contributions in all the fields of Volcanology that use a combined geological and physical modelling approach. They include new techniques in describing eruption dynamics, depositional processes, hazard mapping, structure of volcanic systems and their relationships with the volcanic activity, construction and dismantling of volcanic edifices, interpretation of remote sensing data, and volcanic unrest.